Sand In My Shoes

Image

Written by: Wendy Kesselman   Illustrated by: Ronald Himler

Lil Bug fell in love with Sand In My Shoes over the summer. The wonderful illustrations of the sunny, calm ocean and gray windy rain remind her of visiting her Bubbi and PopPop at the beach. Living at the beach in the summer is great with “Glistening water, glistening shells/ Glistening starfish waiting for me.” But when summer ends it’s time to say goodbye to all the seashells, snails, waves and dunes. Back home in the city it is easier to wait for next summer with “The shell in my pocket/ The sand in my shoes.”

Lil Bug says: “Shell in my pocket, sand in my shoes!” Sun in my eyes. Sand in my shoes. There is a city.

Leave a Reply

